top of page

Watching the Water (Book 1 of the series)


The Heart Tide  Series is composed of two books.  Book 1, "Watching the Water" is a cliff-hanger! The series concludes with "Seeking the Shore" read more about Book 2 HERE.  Neither is a stand-alone book. 

"Watching the Water" by author Donna G. Morton is Book 1 in the "Heart Tide" series. The conclusion, Book 2, "Seeking the Shore," released October 2017. Historical Fiction/Romance. Paperback and eBook.  Want a sneak peek? My publisher has uploaded a free and extended preview of my book on BookGrabbr!   
Click HERE to grab it!

Julianna Sheffield is a rogue wave, one that doesn’t want to land on the shore it seems destined for. It’s 1934 and the currents pushing her include an unscrupulous father determined to keep the family solvent during the Great Depression, a mother suffocated by the bubble of high society, and a greedy fiancé named Leyton, who is proving why his name rhymes with Satan.

Julianna longs to chart a different course. She wants to help the widows, farmers, and polio victims her family forced into the bread lines. She wants to exchange teacups for drinking milk from the jug. And she dreams of a man named Jace McAllister, another rogue wave who wants to love her but fights the seas bringing them together.

Jace also has a heart for those who are Depression-weary, but his method of helping includes retribution. His reasons are his own, but connected to Julianna’s family. For this seemingly doomed couple, moving forward brings on storms of rage, moral dilemmas, and difficult personal growth.

Their love could be the kind that is impossible to live out ... or the kind from which legends are born. The outcome of their journey depends on how carefully they navigate the waters.

Watching the Water, Part 1 of the Heart Tide Series by Donna Morton with Brothers Bob, conure parrots

 Donna Gentry Morton is being referred to as the author from Ducktown who writes with a parrot on each shoulder. She does have two parrots, two shoulders, and now ... two books!

Buy the Books
The Heart Tide Series

Book 1 "Watching the Water," released November 2016. 

ISBN 978-1-937084-48-6 (Paperback)

ISBN 978-1-937084-49-3 (eBook)

Family Saga/Historical Fiction/Romance

6 x 9, 300 pages

Publication date: November 22, 2016

Book 2 “Seeking the Shore,” released October 2017. READ MORE HERE.

ISBN-10: 1945448024

ISBN-13: 978-1945448027

Family Saga/Historical Fiction/Romance

6 x 9, 300 pages

Publication date: October 1, 2017

Sell Sheet

Interior Sample

SIBA, Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance
BQB Boutique of Quality Books, publisher of The Heart Tide Series
Available in paperback at a bookstore near you or order online from one of the booksellers shown here; also available digitally as eBooks.
GoodReads - leave us a review!

Buy the Books

Special bulk order pricing is available for Book Clubs wanting to choose these books for their club's reading selections.

Inquire here

bottom of page